Vaccination Tax Credit: Letter to Minister of Finance and Minister of National Revenue

Sent via email

June 8, 2021

Hon. Chrystia Freeland, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Finance
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G5

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, P.C., M.P.
Minister of National Revenue
7th Floor, 555 Mackenzie Avenue
Ottawa Ontario, K1A 0L5

Dear Ministers:

Thank you for your ongoing efforts to support Canadians and the business community as we all navigate the pandemic. There is finally light at the end of the tunnel and we must redouble our efforts to ensure Canadians are fully vaccinated as fast as possible.

Our member businesses of all sizes have been working to encourage vaccinations among their staff and communities. Significant headway has been made to increase vaccine confidence across Canada. This is a credit to all involved, including the Government of Canada.

Many businesses have been able to offer paid time off to employees to receive their vaccinations. However, we can do more. Businesses, particularly SMEs, have been hard-hit over the past 15 months. To help businesses that want to do the right thing and provide their teams with paid leave to be vaccinated, government can facilitate businesses providing time off to employees, particularly hourly wage staff. This initiative should be coordinated with temporary paid sick programs which some jurisdictions already have in place.

We call on the federal government to support up to three hours of paid leave for vaccination by allowing employers to reduce a fixed amount per employee off their payroll remittances to the Canada Revenue Agency.

We are now at a point in this crisis where businesses are beginning to reopen, while simultaneously the vast majority of Canadians still need to receive their second vaccine dose. It is absolutely critical to ensure Canadians are able to receive second doses, without placing yet another financial burden upon the business community. By helping employers with this remittance measure, it would provide a tangible tool for businesses to encourage their employees to be vaccinated.

We look forward to our continued conversations and collaborations. By continuing to work together, we can navigate to the end of this crisis faster.


Hon. Perrin Beatty, PC, OC
President & CEO
Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Sheri Somerville
Atlantic Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Murray Sigler
Interim CEO
Calgary Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Jim Facette
Canada’s Accredited Zoos Association

Ms. Susan Powel
President & CEO
Canadian Food Exporters Association

Ms. Sherry McNeil
President & CEO
Canadian Franchise Association

Mr. Bruce Rodgers
Executive Director
Canadian International Freight Forwarders Association

Ms. Kathleen Yurchesyn
Cape Breton Regional Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Bruce Burrows
President & CEO
Chamber of Marine Commerce

Mr. Jeffrey Sundquist
President & CEO
Edmonton Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Michael Graydon
Food, Health & Consumer Products

Mrs. Karen Cross
Greater Kingston Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Colleen Clark
Greater Langley Chamber of Commerce

Mr. John Wishart
Greater Moncton Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Mishka Balsom
Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Jason Aebig
Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Bridgitte Anderson
President & CEO
Greater Vancouver Board of Trade

Mr. Bruce Williams
Chief Executive Officer
Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerc

Ms. Pamela Fralick
Innovative Medicines Canada

Mr. Dan Rogers
Executive Director
Kelowna Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Graham Henderson
London Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Scott McCammon
President & CEO
Milton Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Rocco Rossi
President & CEO
Ontario Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Rick More
Red Deer & District Chamber of Commerce

Mr. David Duplisea
Saint John Region Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Steve McLellan
Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Rory Ring
Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Todd Banks
Executive Director
Sherwood Park & District Chamber of Commerce

Mrs. Anita Huberman
Surrey Board of Trade

Ms. Angela Mondou
President and CEO

Ms. Keitha Robson
Chief Administrative Officer
Timmins Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Beth Potter
President & CEO
Tourism Industry Association of Canada

Mr. Rakesh Naidu
President & CEO
Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Loren Remillard
President & CEO
Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce